Teriyaki Turkey Burgers

DSC00789cutHey everyone!  It looks like I’m getting an earlier start on things than I had anticipated.  I guess it’s because this blog has got me so gosh darn excited.  The original plan was not to start until SpoonFiance and I had moved, but this was too tasty to not share!

So my excuse for today’s quick lunch was to clear out some stuff from the fridge before the move.  I had two small containers each with a little over one tablespoon of my homemade teriyaki sauce in them.  I tend to make my own teriyaki since it’s quite a bit cheaper (despite ginger being so pricy, not much is needed).  I also had two toasted onion hamburger rolls leftover in the fridge and I had thawed about a pound of ground turkey the day before, but had no idea what to do with it.  In addition, I purchased last weekend, perhaps foolishly, a large container of mixed salad greens from Sam’s Club because I thought I’d be making salads quite regularly (yea, right).

So after throwing together some ground turkey, teriyaki sauce, chopped onion, black pepper, egg white and cornmeal, I split the turkey into three blobs and formed rounded patties out of them and stuck them on my cast iron skillet with some sesame oil and placed the whole thing in the oven to bake.  They looked pretty puffy when they came out.  I had not anticipated that.  They did slim down a little once i turned them over to brown the other side.  After toasting the onion rolls, and adding a handfull of mixed greens, they were looking pretty tasty!

DSC00788

That’s not cheese at the bottom there.  I happened to have some shrimp sauce leftover from takeout some time ago and figured it would be better than Miracle Whip or plain mayo (yuck).  I took more photos of this both opened and closed, but this one made it look the most photogenic (hah!).  Apparently flash can do some horrendous things to food photos… who knew!?

Overall they came out pretty yummy.  I would probably add some sesame oil to the turkey meat prior to baking so that it would remain more moist inside the burger patty next time around.  Also, since I had the onion rolls, the burgers had enough onion flavor, but with plain rolls, an onion ring or two would be a good addition(red onion would work best, but I just use whatever I have at the time).  Other than that, I give this lunch two thumbs up!

Here are your DIY instructions (all measurements here are approximated):

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 2 tbs chopped onion
  • 2 tsp. black pepper (fresh ground or not, your choice)
  • 3 – 4 tbs. teriyaki sauce (get a good, thick sauce from the store or make it yourself!)
  • 1 egg, separated
  • cornmeal or plain breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • Hamburger Rolls
  • Mixed Salad Greens (or Romaine hearts depending on what you have available)

Mix the turkey, onion, pepper, teriyaki sauce, egg (the white ONLY, ditch the yolk) and 1/2 of the sesame oil.  Work everything into the meat with your hands for best distribution of flavor (or use a spoon if you’re squeamish).  The meat mixture should be pretty wet from the egg and teriyaki sauce.  Sprinkle about 1 or 2 tsps of cornmeal or breadcrumbs on the mix to ‘firm it up’ a little.

From here you can form the meat into patties.  It is up to you if you want to make quarter, third or half pound burgers.  Heat the remaining sesame oil and the olive oil together in a skillet (I used a cast iron skillet and that worked pretty good).  Once the oil is hot, place the patties, one at a time, in the pan.  At this point  you can either fry them like you would normal burgers or place the skillet in the oven (set at around 400°), if it is cast iron of course, and let the patties bake instead.  Fry/bake until golden brown and firm on each side (about 10 minutes, I think).  If you can’t tell whether or not they’re fully cooked through, you can use a fork or knife to pierce one patty and snoop around inside to make sure there’s no pink (unless you like a little pink) or you can use a meat thermometer.

Once they’re finished, slap each of those bad boys on a hamburger roll and add as much lettuce/greens as you desire.  You can as get creative with your toppings as you wish.  Enjoy!

See you for the next dish!

The Head Spoon

Leave a Reply

