Cookbook of the Month for January 2010

Happy New Year from the Spoon!

Hello everyone!  I bet you were wondering if I had decided to bail on the blog.  Well, fear not for I have returned!  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and you are looking forward to a bright new year.

I recently got a library card last month.  My first one in at least 7 years!  I couldn’t believe the amount of cookbooks they have in there!  I guess I never really looked before but boy am I excited!  I’m thinking about checking out a new cookbook each month and trying at least one recipe from each book and posting the results here.

Here is this month’s book:

Cookbook of the Month for January 2010

The Filipino-American Kitchen (by Jennifer M. Aranas)

Having a half-Filipino roommate when I was in college opened me up to a whole new world of delicious foods.  I was missing her scrumptious Chicken Adobo when I decided to go with this choice.  I actually used the Adobo recipe in this book the night I checked it out of the library.  It was fantastic and just as good as I remembered it.  However, I will be trying a completely different recipe and blogging about that instead since Adobo is pretty much the national dish of the Philippines and I’d just be beating a dead horse on that one.

So keep your eye’s peeled for this month’s Cookbook Excursion on The Intrepid Spoon!

Happy New Year!

The Head Spoon

One thought on “Happy New Year from the Spoon!

Leave a Reply

