Ah, that's much better!

Tales of Woe and Girl Scout Cookies

Last Saturday, I happened upon a small group of Girl Scouts (a.k.a. Cookie Pushers) stationed outside our local HH Gregg.  Since I am a huge fan of several of the cookie varieties, and a former Girl Scout myself, I always buy a few boxes each year.  This year, I noticed that the Little Brownie Bakers had a new variety to offer.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give to you, “Thank U Berry Munch”.

The cookie and the culprit

According to the Little Brownie Bakers website this new cookie has “real, premium cranberries [that] provide a delightful tartness in these hearty cookies sweetened with creamy white fudge chips.”  Despite the terrible name (seriously, they couldn’t spell out the word “you”?), I decided to buy one box for me and one for a friend.  I, personally, do not care much for white fudge or white chocolate but, considering the Girl Scout Cookies’ current track record of tastiness, I figured these cookies would be as delicious as their predecessors.

I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG!!!

I am speaking from personal preference here as I am sure there are people out there who think these cookies are just delightful in every way.  I do not discount or criticize their opinion.  However, I thought these cookies were terrible.

How terrible, exactly?  Let’s put it this way; I usually will tear open a box of Thin Mints or Do-si-dos, extract a sleeve of stacked cookies, and proceed to devour said stack of cookies in one, or two, sittings.  With these cookies, I had to force myself to finish just one!  Forget the “delightful tartness” of the cranberries, you could barely taste them!  All I tasted was oil, flour, and sugar with a sporadic tickle of cranberry… and not in a good way.

I was sorely disappointed in these cookies.  In addition, I was mad at myself for wasting $3.50 on a box that only gives you 14 of these awful things (that’s $0.25 per horrible cookie).  So, I did what any upset consumer would do; I complained.  After going to the Little Brownie Bakers website, I found their online contact form and wrote them an angry note.  I must admit, I felt a little better afterwards.  But then I didn’t know what to do with the rest of the cookies.

A friend came to my aid and pointed me to the recipes section of the LBB website.  They had a recipe for a bread pudding made with the cookies.  I took a look at it and figured it looked like a good idea.  Nonetheless, there was no way I was going to use their recipe after they were the ones who created these gross things.  Especially since their recipe says it makes 6 servings after using only one box of cookies.  I wanted a big, fluffy pudding rather than a small dense one.

Here is how I made it:

Orange-Cranberry Bread Pudding

Ingredients (all measurements are approximate)

  • 1 angel food sponge cake (those brick-shaped ones you get from the baked goods section of the supermarket)
  • 1 c dried cranberries
  • 3/4 c Grand Marnier liqueur
  • 1 box Thank U Berry Munch Cookies
  • 1 1/4 c Milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/8 tsp orange essence
  • 1/8 c sugar

Put the cranberries to soak in a saucer with half of the Grand Marnier.  Cut the sponge cake into 1cm slices and place a few at the bottom of a 9″ loaf pan until it is covered.  Brush the slices with Grand Marnier until they are well soaked.  Crumble half of the cookies and spread them on top of the sponge cake.  Sprinkle half of the cranberries on top of the cookies.  Place more slices of sponge cake on top of the cookies, brush with the liqueur and repeat the layers again.  Mix the milk, egg, sugar, vanilla and orange essences together until the egg is well distributed throughout the mixture.  Pour the mixture over the layers in the pan, cover the pan with foil and leave it to soak in the fridge for 30 mins to one hour.  Remove pan from the fridge and preheat oven to 350°.  Once oven heats up fully, place the pan in the oven and let it bake for 40 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake uncovered for another 5 – 10 minutes or until you can place a knife in the center and it comes out clean.

Here was my result:

Ah, that's much better!

It was delicious and warm fresh out of the oven.  I was a bit sad that I had to go to such lengths to enjoy these cookies, but happy that I did not waste them.  I guess every disappointing cookie can be a delicious dessert in disguise!

See you next dish!

The Head Spoon

2 thoughts on “Tales of Woe and Girl Scout Cookies

  1. Well if that aint turning cranberries into cranberry pudding. A shame about those cookies though. I wonder if the little scouts have tasted them yet. If the often dead taste buds of kids catch the horror then the recipe will change soon enough.

    • Well I asked the girls if they were any good and they said that they were. But they don’t call them Cookie Pushers for nothing. When you’re a Girl Scout, you are the marketing team for those cookies. So, if you don’t believe in your product, neither will your customers.

Leave a Reply

