DSC01257

Monthly Cookbook Excursion May 2010: Nuts about Ramen

Hello Everyone! The Head Spoon was about a stone’s throw away from phoning it in this month. The first cookbook I checked out of the library had potential, but ultimately no recipes that interested me enough to try them out. The second cookbook had a great premise, but I got lazy. I know you’re all a bit shocked, but the first step to treating laziness is admitting you have a problem.

Anyhow, on to the main purpose of this post. Another month has ended and the Head Spoon has chosen another cookbook from which to showcase one recipe. This months’ book appealed to me because of the pun used in the title:

Apocalypse Chow - by Jon & Robin Robertson

It is a great cookbook for anyone who still wants to be able to make delicious meals after a storm knocks your power out. It gives you ideas on making canned/preserved food survival kits and instructions on what should be cooked first (i.e. your meats and perishables from the fridge and then those from the freezer) before resorting to your horde of canned goods.

The recipe I chose, due to my laziness, was the Nutty Ramen Salad.  The prep and cooking time was quite short and I always keep a few bricks of ramen in the pantry. The items I did not have, however, were canned bean sprouts, almonds, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds. Since I was not inclined to go to the supermarket to obtain these, and since the premise of this cookbook was to make the best with what you  had available, I took the book’s message to heart and used what I already had in my pantry.  In place of bean sprouts, I took some celery I had and attempted the thinnest julienne cut I was able to manage. In place of the nuts and seeds, I had some leftover macadamia nuts that were already chopped into small pieces.  I added some dried pepper flakes and dried garlic for heat and flavor and only used half of one of the ramen flavor packets.  The rest of the recipe I followed to the letter.  Here was my result:

It’s probably not as textured, or as nutty, as the original recipe intended, but I think the improvisations I made worked in this case. If I were to make it again, I would use less sesame oil. The recipe called for a quarter cup of sesame oil for frying and it made the dish a bit greasy. Besides that, it turned out to be a pretty tasty reinvention of ramen. It was quick, and easy and I could definitely seeing myself making this on a tiny gas stove in dim candlelight. Just because I have no electricity, does not mean I can’t eat well!

See you next dish!

The Head Spoon

Leave a Reply

