Five Days of Bento

I was elated when my best friend, whose cousin had recently visited Japan this summer, informed me that she had a bento box waiting just for me! I had always marveled at the little plastic containers with enough capacity to hold some of the cutest meals I have ever seen. It seemed a novel idea and I always wanted to give one a try. Well, I finally got my chance!

After collecting my bento box, I was eager to get home and prepare my first lunch for the week. However, I really had no idea where to start. As most of us tend to do in these modern times, I consulted the internet. I happened to find a really great website, called Just Bento, that not only shows you the cute results of a well crafted bento, but they have a myriad of recipes too!

For my first lunch, I was pretty ambitious and decided to try for more traditional contents.  Here is what I came up with for Monday:

In the closest segment to the camera on the far left, I tried my hand at making tamagoyaki (or Japanese omelet). I then wedged in a block of white rice and next to that, some quickie chicken teriyaki I whipped up using some leftover rotisserie chicken scraps. In the farther segment, I had some green table grapes and carrot sticks. This turned out to be a pretty substantial lunch. I ate the tamagoyaki, rice, and chicken teriyaki at lunchtime and snacked on the grapes and carrots later in the day. It was really pleasant to have such a variety (albeit, in small quantities) of things to eat!

Tuesday’s bento was a bit more on the traditional lunch side and with a lot less variety:

On the left is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on a toasted kaiser roll a Trader Joe’s chocolate chip dunker cookie (for that little “something sweet”). On the right is all grapes. This one was still good since it was all things I enjoy eating, but didn’t feel as ambitious as its predecessor.

On Wednesday, I really wanted to see how much variety I could pack into my little bento box.  Here are my results:

On the left are dried cranberries, grapes, and pepper jack cheese slices.  On the right are water crackers, vienna sausages, and some leftover shrimp and garlic pasta. This bento was probably my favorite since it had so many things to choose from!

On Thursday, I had to go into work early so I tried to load up my bento with carbs to help me get through my longer day.

On the left is a cheese sandwich cut into sections. On the right are butter crackers, grapes, and a small peanut butter and jelly sandwich I cut into a flower shape using one of my cookie cutters. I missed the cheese I had incorporated into the previous day’s bento to go with my crackers, but this one was full of carbs to keep me going.

Friday’s bento was nonexistent since I spent my prior evening going to a movie with a friend of mine and had almost no time to prepare a proper lunch. I ended up having a veggie burger that day.  However, I did make one more bento this morning! Here is how Friday’s bento should have looked:

I apologize for the blurry photo, but that’s what I get for rushing! On the left is my go-to staple, of course, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on wheat and below that is a small round of Laughing Cow Babybel cheese. On the right are some grapes and butter crackers. As of this post, I have not eaten all of the items in my bento, but my PB&J sandwich is always divinely delicious!

I hope you all enjoyed my adventure as much as I did. It made me realize that I was more motivated to put additional effort into packing a lunch with a variety of items with the bento box than with my regular food saver containers. I guess good things do come in small (and cute) packages!

See you next dish!

The Head Spoon

Leave a Reply

