Ode to Fresh Market

Fresh Market has a way of getting me to spend my hard-earned money pretty easily. Between the ambiance and the selection, it’s hard for me to walk out of there empty handed. It is, essentially, a foodie paradise! While on a random stop at my local Fresh Market I happened to peruse their fresh meat and seafood section to see if anything could inspire an idea for dinner that night. Well, inspire it did!

You are looking at a 0.75 pound fresh, wild Yellowfin Tuna steak that I marinated in homemade teriyaki sauce and then pan seared in hot sesame oil. The steak was pristine when I saw it. Healthily colored and extremely fresh. I just knew what I had to do with it!

I sauteed some fresh broccolini (also from Fresh Market) in sesame oil, salt, and pepper flakes in my wok and then added a bit of water and covered it to steam until perfectly crisp, but not too firm. The little ramekin on the side is a spicy teriyaki glaze I made for dipping/coating the tuna slices in.

I must say, I was a little hesitant in cooking the tuna so rare since I’ve never had raw fish that wasn’t prepared at a sushi bar. However, I knew the fish was fresh and I gave it a good cleaning with rice vinegar. I figured if we did get sick, it would be my own folly, I’d get a day off from work (granted with the accompanying stomach cramps and body-evacuating functions), and I would have learned an important lesson. Well, I can say that the past 24 hours have indicated no digestive distress. Success!

I wish I could share a recipe for this but I paid little attention to the measurements I was using as I was cooking. I played most of it by ear and I’m already a seasoned preparer of teriyaki sauce so I’m pretty much on auto pilot when it comes to that. If I ever make it again, I’ll be sure to make notations on what I did! Deal?

See you next dish!

The Head Spoon

Leave a Reply

