Thanksgiving Experimentation

Hello everyone! As an extension of my experimental spirit, I tried to make full use of images to do most of the storytelling for this post.

Below, we see the usual suspects for pumpkin pie; canned pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove, honey and sugar.  This was the start of my pumpkin filling.

I added about 1/3 cup of heavy cream to the pumpkin mix and two eggs and poured it into a baking dish to bake on its own (sans crust).

Next, I took some pre-formed phyllo cups that I picked up and brushed them with a mix of honey and Crown Royal.

I baked the phyllo cups and the pumpkin in the same oven (around 350 degrees).  The phyllo cups came out first once they were suitably  browned and the pumpkin stayed in until it was cooked all the way through.

In the meantime, I attempted to make some candied sage leaves.

I had also bought some candied ginger to use along with the sage that I  cut into strips while waiting on my items to bake.

When the pumpkin had baked and cooled, I whisked it smooth and put into a pastry bag.  I piped a little pumpkin into each phyllo cup.

Then, I whipped up some of the heavy cream until it held firm.  I added spoonful of creme fraiche, 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/8 cup of white sugar and combined it with the whipped cream.  I piped a little cream on top of each dollop of pumpkin.

I garnished each cup with a sliver of candied ginger along with a sliver of candied sage.

Aren’t they adorable? They taste pretty good too! I hope everyone likes them at the thanksgiving dinner we’re attending! There’s nothing quite like trying something a little different for a change. Go crazy and be adventurous!

See you next dish!

The Head Spoon

One thought on “Thanksgiving Experimentation

Leave a Reply

